The Inner Circle

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Encrypting Traffic between Containers

• 1.  Encrypting Traffic between Containers

Posted Jan 26, 2023 10:30:00 AM
    Hi Everyone,

I'm currently trying to determine whether it's the best practice to encrypt traffic between containers in the same pod on a Kubernetes node.  I have been reading up on a few sites and standards, but it's not very clear and quite ambiguous, and most of what I have read is more about encrypting traffic between pods or nodes.

I'm very new to the cloud-native world, and the answer might have been in my face, which I may have misunderstood.

It would be great to hear your thoughts, or if there is any documentation that you know of that I could go through would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
    Shawn

• 2.  RE: Encrypting Traffic between Containers

Posted Jan 27, 2023 07:49:00 AM
    Yes it should be

------------------------------
    Chris Mlynarczyk
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Uptycs
    Chicago IL

• 3.  RE: Encrypting Traffic between Containers

Posted Jan 27, 2023 07:57:00 AM
    mutual TLS is one of the key concepts in RBAC for K8s and most of the service mesh architecture enforce these...but not sure what the default is for within Pod communication
    K8s control plane can do these

Chris Mlynarczyk
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Uptycs
    Chicago IL

• 4.  RE: Encrypting Traffic between Containers

Posted Jan 27, 2023 09:12:00 AM
    Interesting question because I've had a similar one. But a couple of things that I've encountered in my journey are:
    1) certificates used to enable the traffic need to be updated and renewed, how donyou automate this process 
    2) side car injection of certificates at time of container initiation. Is this a standard practice? If so where do you pull the cert from to ensure its always an updated one.