Artificial Intelligence

• 1.  Prompt Engineering

Posted Aug 15, 2023 05:38:00 PM

I spent quite some  time today working with Antropic's Claude to track down a useable legal opinion on the amendment to NYDFS 23 NYCRR 500. I had been told that data was now considered an "asset" under the amendment and that this would change the way we dealt with data as part of our compliance in New York where are corporate headquarters are located. I'm pretty new at prompt engineering but I try to practice and improve every day. I've decided to post that thread and I'm asking for suggestions on how I can improve as well as being pointed to resources that will help me be a better prompt engineer. All suggestions and comments are welcome.

Also if this post is inappropriate for some reason please let me know. I do not have a blog spot or other similar resource where I can post this. It might be time to consider it though.

Prompt: find an opinion or interpretation that defines data as an asset according to NYDFS 23 NYCRR 500

Response

Here is an opinion on viewing data as an asset according to NYDFS cybersecurity regulations:

The New York State Department of Financial Services' cybersecurity regulations (23 NYCRR 500) require financial institutions to have policies and procedures in place to protect their data and systems. While the regulations don't explicitly define data as an asset, they do effectively treat it that way by mandating robust controls around data security, similar to those required for other critical assets.